Glendronach is one of the most charming and old-fashioned distilleries in Scotland. It was built in 1825 by a group of local farmers and businessmen led by James Allardice, who so impressed the local laird, the Duke of Gordon, that it was introduced by the Duke of London society, among who he established something, of a reputation for his ‘Guid Glendronach’. Alas, a fire in 1837 largely destroyed the distillery, and this was followed five years later by Allardice’s bankruptcy.Water Scott took control of the distillery in 1852. Following Walter Scott’s death in 1887, Glendronach was taken over by a consortium from Leith. In 1920, Charles Grant, the son of the founder of the Glenfiddich distillery, bought Glendronach, and re-launched production three months later. Production went on successfully under the management of the Grant family for the next forty years, until William Teacher & Sons purchased the site. Teacher & Sons increased the number of stills at the site from two to four in 1966, and in 1976, a visitor’s centre was opened at the distillery.
The distillery prospered and was critically acclaimed, proved by the fact that in 1991, Glendronach was chosen as one of a select few in Allied Distiller’s Caledonian Malts collection. After Allied Distillers acquired the distillery, it was mothballed. Fortunately, production was re-launched in 2002.
Glendronach was purchased by Jack Daniel’s Tennessee whiskey producer Brown-Forman in 2016 along with its acquisition of The BenRiach Distillery Company.